Skip to content

‘The Spirit’ & Setting the Scene exhibition review.

February 22, 2009
    1. The Spirit.

  • spirit

    The Spirit is a big screen adaption of a 1940’s comic strip based on an ex police officer who fights crime from the shadows of his city, has a weakness for the ladies, and visa versa. This comic book character never reached the dizzy heights of his caped or lycra wearing friends achieving only mediocre success and is now the subjectof sporadic revamps; the latest was in the form of a graphic novel by Frank Miller, whom is also the director of this film. Visually the film follows the same formula that brought Frank Miller success with Sin City. It is beautiful to look at and I admire his unique noir effect but as the film crawls along it quickly becomes evident the movie lacks depth. Its script and acting performances are so incredibly cheesy that you could be excused for thinking this movie was intended to be a parody of comic book movies. With the visual effects the only thing carrying this film you soon notice at times they too also lack depth, literally. The backgrounds consist mainly of falling snow, fog or silhouettes; I assume this was to give it the 2d effect of a comic book… it doesn’t work, It just comes across looking like a production short cut. The Spirit is pretty to look at and amusing at times but is destined for the bargain bin along side other comic book adaptations like the Phantom, Batman and Robin, & Dick Tracy.

    1. Setting the Scene.

  • STS_acmi

    Setting the Scene is a fascinating insight into production design and how it can shape, mould and manipulate a film. It immediately had me evaluating what I thought I knew of film. The first 10 or so displays I saw were of European or dated films, although I was intrigued by the production stills, floor plans & models of Mon Oncle, The Red Shoe, and Offret I couldn’t put it into context because I hadn’t yet seen the films. Once I found films I was familiar with I was blown away by the amount of detail and unsung behind-the-scenes work that goes into making a film… its not just about a script, a hand full of actors and a camera. Armed with the knowledge that at the completion of my Advance Diploma in Screen & Media i’ll have the skill set to actively contribute to the media industry is all the motivation i need.

    Word Count: 405

    One Comment leave one →
    1. February 9, 2012 9:29 am

      This was a trriefic movie. The black-and-white kept the violence from being totally over the top, but I’m still glad I didn’t bring my wife to see this one.

    Leave a Reply

