Skip to content

Paper toys

January 29, 2011

I’ve been applying for every available multimedia position, unfortunately at this time of year there isn’t alot available and the ones that are i’m fighting it out against every other 2010 graduate. I have been shortlisted a handful of times, just last week i made it to the final 4 out of 97 applicants so i’m doing something right and know a full time gig isn’t going to be to far away. Fortunately i’ve had a few of freelance jobs come my way to keep the mortgage repayments ticking over.

So what have i been doing with my free time?

Well apart from playing Black Ops i have been inspired by Horrorwood, Macula, Cubeecraft and Matt Hawkins at CustomPaperToys to try my hand at designing paper toys. Using the free blank templates from Horrorwood & Macula as a guide i created a Storm Man paper toy with a ride-on quad bike for my first effort. I have presented it to Melbourne Storm’s marketing department and i am awaiting a response back on whether they would like to use it. I have offered it as a freebie so i can’t see why they wouldn’t. Would be great exposure so fingers crossed.

My second attempt was for my nephews who i’ve got addicted to Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. They love Michealangleo & Leonardo so imade them a papertoy of each and a mask. They loved them and it was so much more gratifying than just buying them a generic store brought toy.


If you would like to make your own Storm Man or TMNT leave a comment and if there is enough demand i might put up a .pdf of the design for you all to download.

Cheers!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jason permalink
    June 18, 2011 5:36 am

    Please, Pretty Please?

    Peace and Love,

    Jason

    Cutystarj@yahoo.com

    • Andrew Knights permalink*
      July 28, 2011 3:41 pm

      Pretty please? I’m assuming your asking for the template of one of my designs… which one?

  2. December 15, 2011 8:39 pm

    I’d love the ninja turtle pdf. My 3 year old has decided this week he loves them. 🙂

    Amanda Patterson
    macnoppus@yahoo.com

    • Andrew Knights permalink*
      December 15, 2011 10:10 pm

      No dramas, i’ll put them up tonight. I hope your little one enjoys them.

    • Andrew Knights permalink*
      December 16, 2011 10:27 am

      You can find the pdf’s here. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

